PR? What is that?

Now there’s a question I never get tired of hearing. It surprises me how many people don’t know what Public Relations is. Sometimes I think, well maybe they just don’t know what the paraphrased PR version is. But, when I actually say Public Relations they still don’t understand. If anything, people think it has something to do with working with someone famous and having control of their social media account. Which, in some cases is correct, but not so much in most. PR revolves around many aspects and challenges. Every day is a different day where you’re not sure what or who you’ll be working with. You’re not quite positive if you’ll get off of work on time or if you will have a free weekend. But, at the end of the day you enjoy your career.

PR is an ever-changing job with endless field opportunities. You can solely work in event planning, where you will be planning weddings, birthdays, parties, reunions, charities, you name it. You could work in a laid back or suit and tie PR firm, where your job would mainly be based around marketing and branding the company or you could work for a companies social media account. No matter what field you decide to go into, Public Relations is all the same. Below I have created an infographic of what I believe to be the top five PR attributes.

368 infograph

In all five of the sections, I have given a brief explanation on what I think the topic means to the PR field. Event planning, branding, media relations, internal communication and community relations are all very important to succeeding in this career. Essentially, they all come together and represent Public Relations as a whole. It doesn’t matter if you are working at a PR firm, you can bet you will still be doing some event planning and needing to keep the relationship with the surrounding communities strong. Keep in mind, this is just from my own perspective and there are plenty more attributes that make PR what it is.

What’s great with Public Relations is that if you are unsure of what part of PR you want to tackle, but know you are fit for the career, you can dabble in all different aspects by taking internships. Starting in May, I will be doing an internship with the Indianapolis Motor Speedway College Program. From there, I will be doing everything revolving around guest relations. You can find me working the ticket booths, directing parking, showing guests to their destinations, working in the office, just a little bit of everything. This will tremendously help me get a sense of what working in the racing industry will be like and it will also help me gain real world experience that will make my resume look great and help me in my future endeavors.

I hope my thoughts and insights with the Public Relations field has helped you understand even just a little bit of what PR really is and what you can accomplish in the field. I would be happy to answer any questions you may still have to my ability and you can always connect with me on LinkedIn.

Thank you for reading!

One thought on “PR? What is that?

Leave a Reply

